Press Release: Madam President Nominations Open for 2022

Shailaja Marion Announcement, Blog Post

February 15, 2022

Media Contacts:
Shai Marion
(918) 747-7933
[email protected]

League of Women Voters Seeking Nominees for May 5 Event

The League of Women Voters of Metropolitan Tulsa is now accepting nominations for Tulsa women who “could be president”. The League will honor 10 women on May 5 at its Madam President event.

Nominees must currently live in the Tulsa metro area and exhibit a commitment to leadership and community service. They may be of any age, residency status or political affiliation. The 2021 event honored 10 local women, including Mariana Aguirre, Tulsa Honor Academy 8th grader; Sue Bennett, executive vice president of Oklahoma National Bank; Emily Brandenburg, chair of Fostering Connections; Rev. Andrea Chambers, chair of the North Tulsa Community Education Task Force; Wendy Drummond, a Tulsa entrepreneur, attorney and philanthropist; Tina Glory-Jordan, secretary of state of the Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma; Rep. Regina Goodwin, Oklahoma House of Representatives member from District 73; Dr. Deborah Guilfoyle, founder of Crosstown Community Development Initiative; Janet Levit, law professor and previous interim president of the University of Tulsa; and Mackenzie Wilfong, general counsel Tulsa Community College.

There is a $50 filing fee to nominate someone, and this fee includes the nominee’s reservation to Madam President on May 5. Nominators can also purchase their own reservation at a discounted price at the time of nominating.

Nominations can be made online at until March 11.

A range of sponsorships is also available at

Madam President will be held on May 5 at the Agora Event Center, 1402 S. Peoria Ave., from 5:30 p.m. until 8:00 p.m. Honorees will be recognized for their contribution to the Tulsa community while guests enjoy heavy hors d’oeuvres and cocktails.

Tickets can be purchased at and are $100 for a general reservation, $75 for League of Women Voters members and $50 for young professionals under the age of 21. All proceeds will support the League of Women Voters of Metropolitan Tulsa.

The event is being organized by Honorary Chair Dr. Leigh Goodson and Event Chairs Andrea Pemberton and Lindsey White, along with an event committee of volunteers Lynn Staggs, Wayne Greene, Karin Lackey, Josie Pascoe, and Anne Williams.

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization that:
• Encourages informed and active participation in government;
• Works to increase understanding of major public policy issues; and
• Influences public policy through education and advocacy.

The League of Women Voters works at the local, state and national levels. The League’s work is guided by the principles of representative government as outlined in the United States Constitution which helps define the League’s standards for individual rights and the proper role of government. Learn more at